ArticlesBlog

15 INGREDIENTS To AVOID If You Are VEGAN

15 INGREDIENTS To AVOID If You Are VEGAN


– Hey guys, it’s me again! I’m sitting on my sofa, which means we are going
to have a chat again today. After the last video of 20 things you thought
were vegan but aren’t, I learned a couple things. A, you guys wanted another video
with a bunch of ingredients to look out for. And two, I learned who Ashley Wicka is. Because she did a very similar video, just hers was 75 things
that you thought were vegan but aren’t. So I, she actually reached out to me, we started chatting, I
checked out her channel. If you want more videos like this, definitely go and check her out, she’s a really sweet girl from LA. So, yeah, so I thought it
would be fun to do another list video, but this time it’s
ingredients to look out for. I’m Candice, the Edgy Veg,
and if you’re new here hit that subscribe button, give this video a big thumbs up, and let me know what else you guys wanna learn about in the comment section. Hopefully I can throw
something together for you. All right, let’s hop right into it. Not so delicately, with castoreum. Castoreum, castoreum. It is a food additive that comes from the anal secretions of beavers. So apparently, whoever
figured this out noticed that the anal secretions of
the North American Beaver, and sometimes the British Beaver, smells like vanilla. So it’s often used in fragrances and as a food additive for flavoring. Apparently, it’s also used in fruit
flavorings to kind of like, enhance the flavor of
raspberries and strawberries. So this was a lot more used, I would say, like 10 years ago. But because it’s becoming
exceedingly expensive to harvest the anal fluid from a beaver, it’s not used as
frequently as it once was. So it’s something that is rare
to find in food these days, but is used in perfumes, but again, it is kind of coming
out of style, if you will, because it’s so expensive. The second one is casein, I talked about this in
my other video a lot. This nasty little bugger
seems to find its way into a lot of foods, even foods
that are labeled dairy free. So Casein is the chief protein in milk, it’s often found in
like, cream-based soups. A lot of companies that are
looking for a cheaper way to add cream and denseness to their baked goods, soups, that sort of thing,
will use Casein instead of like, pure creams. And like I said, a lot of
non-dairy products actually have it in there if they’re
not labeled as vegan. Go Veggie is a cheese that
I discussed last time, it says diary free cheese, soy cheese, but it has Casein in it. Okay, so whey is the liquid that’s left after milk has
curdled, and has been strained. So, you know like, Little
Miss Muffet sat on a tuffet, eating her curds and whey, the whey is that liquid substance. So it’s a by product
of the cheese industry and like the manufacturing of Casein. And it’s often used as a
super cheap milk replacement in commercial products like
cheese flavored crackers, snacks, hot dogs, that sort of thing. Lactose is the sugar found in milk, and that again is a very cheap byproduct that can be used in a
lot of packaged foods. So things like margarine, some cereal, frozen potato products, and
even instant like mashed, instant mashed potatoes, a lot of them will have that in there. ‘Cause it’s cheap, it’s
a byproduct of you know, making cheese and making milk so it has to get used somewhere
and it’s super cheap to use, so a lot of products end up
with that in there to make it like cheese flavored without
the actual cost of the milk. So the term “animal derived”
means that the ingredient or the product is made
from animal byproduct. So this can be flesh, bones, secretions, like milk, we’re using a lot
of really fun terms today. So if it says, like
animal derived lactic acid or if it has rennet in it, it should say animal derived
rennet or casein or whatever. That’s what the term animal derived means, it just means it’s a byproduct of animals, doesn’t necessarily have
to be like, egg or cheese. It can be like I said,
lactic acid for example. So, lactic acid, there
are some plant based forms of lactic acid, but there’s
also animal derived lactic acid. So this is often used as a preservative, and like a flavoring agent. It’s an ingredient that’s used
in a lot of processed foods, because of it’s preservative nature. So things like pickles,
pickled vegetables, like fruit preserves,
it’s used in wine as well, Oh, and some bread products! So a lot of like, grocery
store bakery breads sometimes will have lactic acid in it to help it keep for longer
and also to help the flavor. All right, gelatin, we
talked about this last time. This motherfucker finds its way into everything, like everything. And if you don’t know what gelatin is, it’s often obtained from pork or beef. And what they do is they take
bones, tendons, ligament, skin, and they boil it with
water until it gets this like, goopy substance and then they
use that too as a thickener. You can find it in face masks, you can find it in things
like jello, fruit preserves, candy, Altoids. Like it’s in so many
things because it’s cheap, it’s a byproduct, and
it’s used as a thickener and a binder which a lot
of processed foods do need. Oh, it’s also used sometimes
to assist in the clarifying of wine so, barnivore.com,
go there, check your alcohol. Beeswax is another one
that kind of finds its way into a lot of different products, whether it’s food or skin care. Often used, actually, on
produce as a produce coating. So if you’re buying an
apple from the store, they want that apple to stay
as fresh and red and like, ripe and nice as possible, so they’ll coat it in wax so
that by the time you get it, like it doesn’t go bad
by the time, you know, it’s harvested and transported, sits in the grocery store,
and then you get it at home. It wants, obviously the
farmers and obviously the grocery stores want that
to last as long as possible, so they will coat it with
wax to slow down the, the breakdown of it. It’s often used in candy and coatings, as well as a lot of natural
and not so natural skin care products, so it’ll just
find its way in there. Like mascaras, and eyeliner,
and that sort of thing. And creams, a lot, it’s used
as an emulsifier in a lot of skin care products and creams. So definitely, just
because a skin care line is labeled as natural, doesn’t mean necessary that it’s vegan. So going back to like the
produce that it’s coated in, cleaning your produce the
right way is super important. I mean it’s almost impossible
to tell if the produce has been dipped in beeswax
or soy wax or whatever, like, I’m not saying stop eating fruit. These are just things to be aware of, I’m not being like the militant
crazy vegan that’s like, you can’t eat apples anymore
because they’re not vegan ’cause they’re dipped in beeswax. That’s not what I’m saying. I just thought that was an
interesting tidbit and fact that I didn’t know until I
started researching this, that you might not know of. You can eat whatever the hell you want, just it’s also good to be aware. Confectioners glaze, also known
as shellac, resinous glaze, or natural glaze or pure food glaze, comes from crushed up bugs. Mmm mmm, tasty. So this is often used on
candy and baked goods, to create like a nice sheen. It is listed under those
different names on the actual, like, package so you will
be able to know and see if that is in the food that you’re, I don’t know, that you’re
thinking of buying. Cochineal or carmine, is red
food coloring that’s made from crushed up bugs and beetles. Often used in candies, really
anything that has food color, like red food coloring, there is food coloring that is vegan. Red dye number 40 is a red
food dye that is vegan friendly It’s in glass, we talked
about this last time. It is a fish bladder that
is often used to clarify spirits, wine and beer. L-Cysteine, this is another tasty one. It’s often made from human
hair or duck feathers. Often used in like, processed wheat and white flour breads and bread products, because it’s used as a dough conditioner. Oleic acid, this is made
from rendered animal fats. Often found in synthetic
butters, some beverages, vegetable fats and oils
and some condiments. Now I’m suspicious of all my condiments. Lard, lard is the fat from a pig abdomen. Often found in can soups, refried beans, and a lot of baked goods. Like a lot of like,
European style baked goods have lard in them. And last but not least,
we have vitamin D3. This is derived from sheep’s
wool, and is often used to fortify different foods and beverages. Like orange juice, for example. All right guys, there you have it, 15 ingredients to look
out for and be aware of that are not vegan and commonly find their nasty little paws in to our food. And or you can also let
me know what kind of list you want to see next, if you’re new here hit that subscribe button. If you like this video and you
want more videos like this, give this video a big thumbs
up and I’ll see ya next time. Bye!

Comments (84)

  1. Hi I love your videos so much♥️♥️♥️

  2. Whoever discovered that fact about beavers…who hurt you?!

  3. Wait…..what? The anal secretions of beavers? I’m shook. And horrified.

  4. very informative and inspirational video candice!!

  5. 🦡🍑💦🤔🤮

  6. I love watching your videos. Thanks for sharing this information.

  7. I’m not vegan but I don’t want anything that is made with the anal secretion from beavers or any animal gross

  8. Note to self: Living on Oreo Cookies as a vegan is not taboo. Great show 💕

  9. Thank you! I learned a lot from this video! 🌿🍁❤️

  10. Oleic acid also comes from plants 🌱

  11. How grossly informative! LOL

  12. L- cystine 😢😡

  13. I cannot believe you started off with the anal secretions of beavers. Bad girl.

  14. So exhausted by this monstrous exploitation of all living things. So exhausted. I don't know if they have it in Canada, but we don't yet have the "V" tag for commercial products here in the States. North America needs to catch the hell up with the UK and EU, and everywhere else this is already common. TFP, Candice.

  15. Vitamin D3 – I buy a vegan supplement (Whole Earth & Sea Vitamin D3 Vegan) made from Lichin or Lychin or something like that (seaweed?), good stuff.

  16. Knew about beavers…didnt know about lactic acid 😱 im going to have to look into that!!!!!

  17. You make that shirt look good!

  18. A thing that has helped me a lot is the "Vegan Additives" app, where you can look up different e-numbers quick and easy 🙂 thank you for the video!

  19. OMG i love ashley im so happy you guys talked!

  20. So much anal and beaver talk 😋

  21. Thank you, my Shaolin Master! I'm learning SO much! I always take notes. It really helps me when you add photos to your videos so I can see the correct spelling of the ingredients you mention. Then, I translate them all into Spanish and continue my research. #brandswitching #goingvegan

  22. Whose brilliant idea was it to say, "Mmm, this needs some beaver anal gland juice!" in vanilla and raspberry flavored products?!

  23. Why can't gelatin be banned?!

  24. That screenshot though about vitamin D 9:09 "If you aren't vegan, that's a good thing…Don't miss these other 8 nutrients vegetarians often miss"
    Why not make a video of the "shit ton of nutrients you miss from eating meat"?

  25. Beaver anal juice…fucking twisted…they’re taking the phrase “from the roofer to the tooter” to the next level. Gelatin just needs to be banned altogether. It amazes me how normalized gelatin is yet Jeffrey Dahmer was doing the same thing with humans and everyone agrees he was a psychopath.

  26. I am so thankful for that all vegan bodega not far from me… but ever since becoming plantabsed for me anything that has too many ingredients is not worth buying… call me lazy 😂😂😂

  27. That first one 🤢

    I’m also a little confused about why they would have dairy free cheese if they have milk in it?

  28. Great video. Thanks for sharing 😊🌱

  29. Girl I found gelatin in my D3 vitamins 🤦🏽‍♀️😫

  30. D3 is used in every Soy milk in Mexico 🙁 I haven't found one that's vegan friendly 🙁

  31. Carmine is also often found in makeup, particularly anything pink or purple since used for the coloring. It's in many Lipsticks, blushes, and eye-shadows. Also, oddly found in some mascaras.

  32. Candice has a sort of vegan Witches of Eastwick vibe going on today.

  33. Stay rooted, my friends!

  34. for the lactic acid— does anyone know if bypasses the US FDA requirement to put Contains: MILK at the end of the ingredient list of products? I usually use that bolded statement as a basic guideline, but now I’m not entirely sure if it’s enough…

  35. I got through half a box of mini wheats before I saw it had gelatin in it T_T like why is it even theeeeere

  36. Gelatin is nasty! I stopped eating it before I wanted to be vegan. Yuck and sad. It makes me so sad about the animals.

  37. From everyone’s comments and your videos I’m starting to realize that’s way easier to be aware of what’s vegan and not here in Europe… wow, why do they make it so hard around there??

  38. One thing I don't see called out often is panko bread crumbs…. some brands are vegan, some have milk ingredients!

  39. I love Vegetology's D3 supplement – I've had my levels tested and they're higher than the recommended level 😊

  40. Again it’s not from sheep’s wool. It is oils from the sheep’s glands that coat the sheep wool!

  41. I’m surprised that lanolin/lanolin acid wasn’t mentioned. It’s an ointment from the wool of sheep. Nasty stuff. It’s in a lot of cosmetic products, medicines, etc.

  42. Your couch looks so damn cute and comfy. I'm jealous. #couchgoals

  43. In South Africa some local brands label things as "oat milk powder" and "soy milk powder" and "dairy alternative" but those products often have milk powder in them. So stupid!

  44. Ok #1 the beaver thing had me gagging 😳 the rest were pretty gross too. Thanks for the info. I read every label, but now I’m going to search carefully for the ones you mentioned.

  45. Well, I’m never eating again. 🤢

  46. I don't understand how in the world they could possibly use anal secretions from any animals how do they produce enough of it for the mass quantity products that they produce. I'm still calling that one fake. Maybe once upon a time that used it and who in the heck decided it was a good idea to stick their nose in the area of the rectum of said beaver and decide "oh this smells good"….weird.

  47. We need bees, so I'm not against beeswax or honey, I'd prefer beeswax than chemicals on my fruits. 🐝

  48. omg the lighting in this vid was really flattering

  49. lol should've been eating my delicious avo. toast while watching. 🤣🥬🌽🥔

  50. More videos like this please

  51. I know Ashely😀 I just discovered her myself. The vegan orange juice I get is from Trader Joe’s store which is unpasteurized Orange Juice! There’s other vegan oranges juice brands but I have only gotten this brand from this store b/c I know it’s vegan😇 I maybe do a vlog on Trader Joe’s orange juice👍🏻 to add to my list of Vlogs.

  52. Got an add for boars head turkey 😬😬😬

  53. Can you make a video on vegan dump and go crockpot meals? I have seen them on YouTube. I haven’t seen any on vegan recipe. Thanks

  54. Wow 😮 feels so great learning all of this.

  55. I didn't know about the wax in fruits. Thanks for sharing Candice!

  56. Can you do a beauty review?

  57. Is it pedophilia that grown women call themselves girl? I do not hear males calling themselves boy.

  58. Wow! and … Eeewww Some of these things I already knew about but those that I didn't. UGH!

  59. Your personality reminds of Zooey Deschannel in The New Girl ☺️

  60. Thank-you, again, for this great information, Candice! I just found out about L-Cysteine yesterday. My husband brought home some bread products from Toronto Bread in Scarborough. I didn’t recognize that ingredient, so I looked it up. Needless to say, the bread and bagels he bought were in the green bin today.

  61. How can you tell if lactic acid is plant or animal based?

  62. can you try leaving the name of the product on the screen while talking about it for next time plsss i feel like it would be easier to remember why i shouldn't use the product that way lol

  63. My Acetaminophen is coated in Gelatin. I’m pissed

  64. I am so stoked for this video! Thank you. I'm sure I'm not the only one who mentioned it, but to see a video made from something I suggested is totally cool regardless. ❤

  65. WTF?!?!?!??!? Beaver Butthole?! LOL! Sick.

  66. Whole Foods labels if their apples are dipped in wax. 😉

  67. Thank you. I am always confused by the ingredients in store bought bread.

  68. Where are all of the closed captions :((((

  69. Great vid, as always! And, I loooooooooove the dress!!

  70. Who want subscribers

  71. I will forever think you sound like Jess from New Girl.
    Great video btw!

  72. I found some trail mix at Dollar Tree that had shellac. It stay right there. Ashley Wicka is a sweetheart.

  73. Nature: here's a fantastic plant that smells divine
    Human: I'm gonna use the anal glands of beavers

  74. What’s up with that beaver anus stuff? What is this world coming to? Jesus everything is bad for you to eat. Btw I freaking hate bugs, how do they get away with putting them in 🍭 🤢

  75. This vid is so helpful. Thank you. Also your outfit is so cute and your skin looks amazing!

  76. The info is great but oooh girl those constant arm/ hand gestures and the constant head flips trigger my anxiety! I'll just listen from now on. Even though you are gorgeous btw.

  77. Love this! Thanks so much for sharing these ingredients to avoid!

  78. It's like you cannot eat or trust anything anymore. I read ingredients lists, but some are hard to identify at time of purchase. No wonder so many vegans just stick with fruits and vegetables, period.

  79. Hopefully this is helpful for people <3
    Shellac's number if anyone wants to look out for is 904 or E904.
    Carmine also goes by the name cochineal, cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine lake, natural red 4, C.I. 75470, or E120. They only crush up the female bugs.
    Other names for Casein are sodium caseinate, caseinate.
    The number for gelatine is 441. They also can make gelatine from fish, and hooves.
    Beeswax number to lookout for is 901 or E901
    L-Cysteine is also knows as L-Cysteine Monohydrocholride, L-cysteine hydrochloride, or L-cysteine hydrochloride monohydrate and it's number is 920 or E920.
    Oleic acid otherwise known as Octadecenoic acid, Octadecenoic acid (Z)-Octadec-9-enoic acid cis-9-Octadecenoic acid cis-Δ9-Octadecenoic acid 18:1 cis-9, stearic acid or fatty acid it's number is 570 or E570, it can also be made from cottonseed oil, but mostly from animal fats.
    The best thing to use are the fussy vegan food ingredient guide app or the fussy vegan scanner app.

  80. That first one 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  81. vitamin d3 isn't always animal derived. they can now make vegan d3, which you want d3 since that is what is absorbed best in the body. also i work at whole foods in the whole body dept, we sell plant based omegas, but they are gelatin capsules, like really? what is the point of that?

  82. Can we get a list? 🙂

  83. Cover up sweetie. Keep it non dairy..

Comment here